BREAKING: Somali Parliament votes out PM Khaire government

Somali Parliament has on Saturday ousted the government of Prime Minister Hassan Ali Khaire through a vote of a no-confidence motion, the speaker of the house, Mohamed Mursal has announced.

According to the speaker, 170 members supported the motion against the government while eight legislators opposed, none abstained.

The parliamentarians accused the government of failing to maintain security and conduct democratic one man one vote elections on the stipulated time.

The speaker of the parliament urged the President to appoint a new Premier to form a cabinet.

Internal Security Minister Mohamed Abukar Islaw termed the move unconstitutional.

Hassan Ali Khaire served as PM since March 2017 following the election of President Farmajo on February 8.

Follow more from


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here